June 6, 2019


Alumni and students mark ministry milestones

Methodist Theological School in Ohio recognizes and congratulates its alumni and students who are being ordained or commissioned or are celebrating other ministry milestones in within their faith traditions this year.

If you're an MTSO alum or student who should be included but isn't, please complete the brief form on our ordination and commissioning page.


Ordained as deacon:

  • Ken Schoon, serving as associate pastor and minister of new opportunities at Chinese Community UMC in Oakland, California

East Ohio

Commissioned as elder:

  • Donald Ackerman, serving Crossroads UMC in Canton
  • Marelize Bruner, serving Fields UMC in North Ridgeville
  • Rebecca Evanoff, serving Fairhope UMC in Louisville, Ohio
  • George Edward Kovacik Jr., serving as pastor of Scott Memorial UMC in Cadiz
  • J. Harlen Rife, serving Pearl Road UMC in Cleveland

Ordained as deacon:

  • Tammy Kuntz, serving as coordinator of the North Central Jurisdiction United Methodist Volunteers in Mission and Sandusky Trinity UMC

Ordained as elder:

  • Randall May, serving as pastor of Geneva UMC
  • David St. Aubin, serving Dover First UMC


Commissioned as elder:

  • Nicholas Bonsky, serving Orchard UMC in Farmington Hills
  • Amy Triebwasser, serving Flat Rock First UMC

Ordained as deacon:

  • Sarah Barrett-Nadeau Alexander, serving as deacon of young adult and high school ministry at Birmingham First UMC

North Carolina

Ordained as deacon:

  • Jenifer Swindell, serving Sunrise UMC in Holly Springs


Ordained as elder:

  • Bo Myers, serving as pastor of Thompson's Station UMC
  • Mary Kate Myers, serving as pastor of Bethesda UMC in Thompson's Station and Wesley Chapel UMC in College Grove

Upper New York

Ordained as deacon:

  • Rebecca Guthrie, serving as deacon at First UMC of New Hartford and chaplain at St. Luke's Hospital in Utica
  • Susan Ranous, serving at Ira UMC

West Ohio

Commissioned as elder:

  • Jennifer Bass
  • Jessica Cavinee
  • Clara Kwon
  • Sarah Moon
  • Victoria M. Robinson, serving as associate pastor at Church of the Saviour UMC in Montgomery

Ordained as deacon:

  • Seth Evans
  • Kara Jones

Ordained as elder:

  • Jennifer Casey
  • Jeremiah Diegel
  • Peter Elliott
  • Wendy Hansen-Smith
  • Gregory Kendrick Jr.
  • John Ma
  • Sara McSwords, serving as pastor of Caldwell Memorial UMC in Irwin and Raymond UMC
  • Dawn Trapp
  • Vera Welker
  • Kimberly Wisecup
  • Christopher Wiseman

United Church of Christ


  • Nicole Pickens, serving as pastor of Zion UCC in Fireside.

Methodist Theological School in Ohio provides theological education and leadership in pursuit of a just, sustainable and generative world. In addition to the Master of Divinity degree, the school offers master’s degrees in counseling, social justice, theological studies and practical theology, along with a Doctor of Ministry degree.


Danny Russell, communications director
drussell@mtso.edu, 740-362-3322