Williams Institute logo blue

Williams Institute

MTSO’s annual lecture series

The Williams Institute is a time-honored tradition at MTSO. The Williams lectures bring to campus speakers from many backgrounds, including theologians, ethicists, poets, biblical scholars, historians, pastoral psychologists and Christian educators. The event includes two lectures as well as opportunities for extensive dialogue and community discussion.

Melanie Harris, associate professor of religion and ethics at Texas Christian University, delivers the 2015 Williams Institute lectures April 22 and 23. Her scholarship provides insight into ethical theory by uplifting the moral practices and values of women. She is the author of Gifts of Virtue: Alice Walker and Womanist Ethics.

This lecture series began in 1981 to honor the late Dr. Ronald L. Williams, professor of theology from 1971 until his death in 1981.

Past Williams Institute lecturers include Ada Maria Isasi-Diaz, Rebecca Chopp, John Cobb, John Collins, James Cone, Michael Cook, Virgilio Elozondo, James Evans Jr., Justo Gonzalez, Jacquelyn Grant, Maria Harris, Beverly Harrison, Mary E. Hunt, Lee Johnson, Charles Kammer III, Martin Marty, Mercy Amba Oduyoye, Schubert Ogden, Thomas Ogletree, Gene Outka, Luis Pedraja, Richard Rohrbaugh, Katherine Doob Sakenfield, Fernando Segovia, Christine M. Smith, C. Joseph Sprague, Kathryn Tanner, Gardner Taylor, Samual Terrien, Mark Trotter, David Lowes Watson, Barbara Wheeler, Edward Wimberly, Philip Wogaman, Robert Wuthnow, Monica A. Coleman, Albert Hernández and Daniel Boyarin.